Wolves -  Sherpa Van Trophy Winners 1988

Sunday 29th May 1988 80,841 Wolves won the Sherpa Van Trophy Final at Wembley in front of 80,841. Bellamy clipped the bar early on and then in the 23rd minute Steve Bull clipped the ball on for Andy Mutch to head Wolves in front, sparking off joyful scenes amongst their amazing following of approximately 45,000 supporters. Dennison, who by now had also appeared for Ireland in a World Cup Qualifier, curled a free-kick beautifully into the top corner of the net to make it 2-0 after 51 minutes.

However, Wolves had lost two players while others had received treatment for injuries so it was hardly surprising that Burnley dominated for a long period in which they did everything but score. Yet it was Wolves who finished back in control with Mutch hitting the post as they proved worthy victors on a wonderful afternoon for football

Sherpa Van Trophy 23rd May 1988 highlights


Wolverhampton Wanderers   2  Mutch, Dennison  0  Burnley

                            Team                                                                          Team

                            1) Mark Kendall                                                         1) Chris Pearce

                            2) Gary Bellamy                                                         2) Shaun McGrory

                            3) Andy Thompson                                                    3) Steve Davis

                            4) Floyd Streete                                                         4) Steve Gardner

                            5) Ally Robertson (Captain)                                      5) Andy Farrell

                            ) Phil Robinson                                                           6) Ian Britton

                            7) Robbie Dennison                                                  7) Ray Deakin (Captain)

                            8) Keith Downing                                                       8) Paul Comstive

                            9) Steve Bull                                                               9) Peter Daniel

                            10) Andy Mutch                                                        10) Steve Taylor

                            11) Mick Holmes                                                      11) George Oghani

                            Substitutes                                                                Substitutes

                            12) Nigel Vaughan                                                   12) Phil Malley

                            14) Jackie Gallagher                                               13) Ashley Hoskin

                                                        Referee: Roger Milford

                                                        Linesmen: D Palmer & G Butland

                            Manager: Graham Turner                                           Manager: Brian Miller

Path to Wembley

1st Round (Southern Area)      Wolves 4-0 Brentford  

Quarter Final                              Wolves 4-0 Peterborough  

Semi-Fnal                                  Wolves 1-0 Torquay  

Area Final 1st Leg                    Notts County 1-0 Wolves  

Area Final 2nd Leg                  Wolves 3-0 Notts County


WWLSC site

You are respectfully reminded that all content on this website is subject to copyright and Wolverhampton Wanderers London Supporters' Club ("London Wolves") official website must be acknowledged as the original source. Please contact the webmaster for permissions to use any content at webmaster@londonwolves.com All materials/designs on the website are © WWLSC. “London Wolves® is a registered Trade Mark.. London Wolves Ltd is registered in England No: 05329824 Registered Office: 21 Walton Road Great Cressingham Thetford Norfolk IP25 6NQ