Wolves Matches

Here we present some historic games involving Wolverhampton Wanderers, including, where possble, video extracts or highlights.  Early videos from the archives are shown under the original pathe facility to display these on member only facilities

We are indebted to Tony Matthews and Dave Instone for “Wolverhampton Wanderers, The Complete Record” for statistics (Breedon Books updated and reprinted 2009)

Domestic cups


League Honours

FA Cup Finals

Wolves have won the FA Cup four times -  1893, 1908, 1949, 1960, here

and were runners-up in 1889, 1896, 1921 and 1939 as well as coming third in 1973-4.

Wolves, in the 1950s pioneered games against top European competition which was instrumental in the creation of the European Cup (now, Champions League) and participated in 1958-9 & 1959-60

Wolves are the only English Club to win the title of five divisions of the Football League (Divisions One (now Premier), Two (now Championship) Division Three (now Div 1) Division Three North and Division Four (now Div 2)

League Cup

Wolves won the League Cup Final in 1974 and 1980  1974  1980

Semi-Finalists 1972-3

Honved here

Div 1/ Premier 1953-4, 1957-8, 1958-9

Football League Trophy here

 (then The Sherpa Van Trophy now Johnstone's Paint Trophy) 1987-8 runners-up 1988-9

EUFA Cup runners up 1971-2 here

Div 2/Championship 1931-2, 1976-7, 2008-9 + Play off winners 2002-3 2009 2003

FA Charity Shield Winners 1959-60, Joint holders 1949-50, 1954-55, 1960-61

European Cup Winners' Cup 1960-61 semi finalists

Div 3/1 Champions 1988-9, 2013-14

Div 3 North Champions 1923-4 2014

Texaco Cup 1970-1

Div 4 /2 Champions 1987-8

Anglo Italian Cup

Wolverhampton Wanderers have a proud history of Cup Final Victories.  Videos of the 1949 and 1960 final goals are on the site here on the Cup FInals + page

FA Cup Winners: 1893, 1908, 1949, 1960 (Videos from 49 and 60 are in here)

FA Cup Finalists: 1889, 1896, 1921, 1939

League Cup Winners: 1974, 1980 (videos available from Club Shop) (pictures on 1974 and 1974+ (members) pages))

Texaco Cup Winners: 1971

Sherpa Van Trophy Winners: 1988 - see Robbie Dennison’s Free Kick here

Nationwide 1st Division Playoff Winners: 2003 - see Sparky’s opening goal here.

EUFA Cup Finalists: 1972 (see EUFA 1972 and 1972 members pages  (REDO LINKS)

In the 1921 FA Cup Final, held at Stamford Bridge, Second Division Wolves were beaten one - nil by Spurs.

London Wolves have recently acquired this Wolves shirt reported to be worn in that final but not verified.  Obviously men were smaller then as shown by the comparison with a more recent away shirt as worn by a WWLSC leading light!

 The shirt does show that the design had changed little since the 1908 final, when Wolves - again in the second division - beat strong favourites Newcastle United at Crystal Palace.  This postcard is on display in the Wolves Trophy Room at Molineux, which you can see on the Stadium Tours.

and the 1896-1910 cup, which was sold at auction for £478,000 (20th May 2005) after being given to Lord Kinnaird, FA President, when Manchester United made a replica and the FA realised they didn’t have the copyright is pictured in the postcard and here


WWLSC site

You are respectfully reminded that all content on this website is subject to copyright and Wolverhampton Wanderers London Supporters' Club ("London Wolves") official website must be acknowledged as the original source. Please contact the webmaster for permissions to use any content at webmaster@londonwolves.com All materials/designs on the website are © WWLSC. “London Wolves® is a registered Trade Mark.. London Wolves Ltd is registered in England No: 05329824 Registered Office: 21 Walton Road Great Cressingham Thetford Norfolk IP25 6NQ